Raging Lions win Road Safety Cricket Cup

The Board for Veteran Cricket in India (Ministry of Sports and Youth Affairs, New Delhi) recently organized a one-day event ‘Road Safety Cricket Cup’ at Shivajinagar Police Ground to spread awareness and social message about road safety and precautions.

Amitabh Gupta, the then Police Commissioner, Pune, Vikram Kumar, Pune Municipal Commissioner, Rahul Chavan, Assistant Charity Commissioner and their colleagues enthusiastically supported this initiative, which was masterminded by Meehir Kulkarni, declared a release.

Under the captaincy of Gupta, the Raging Lions (Pune Police) and SkyHawks (Pune Municipal Corporation) led by Municipal Commissioner Vikram Kumar, all the players put on a good show.

Raging Lions won the game coin toss and elected to bat first. Both teams had the chance to hit seven and four overs. Raging Lions scored 95 runs in seven overs of the first innings. In response, the SkyHawks’ innings ended with 46 runs. In the second innings, Raging Lions scored 39 runs in four overs while SkyHawks could only score 49 runs. Raging Lions won the match by 39 runs while SkyHawks finished in second place. Sandeep Patole of SkyHawks was named best bowler, while Vishal More of Raging Lions was named best hitter and man of the match.

Stories for subscribers only

Hooch deaths: A predicted policy failure, Nitish Kumar trappedPremium
Fifa World Cup final: A look at Lionel Messi's legacy and comparison...Premium
West Champaran shows the way 'virtually' to address teachers...Premium

The winners and runners-up teams were awarded a Road Safety Trophy by the dignitaries.

Leave a Comment