ICC clears air on Michael Neser’s catch against Sydney Sixers

ICC has cleared the air over the controversial capture of Michael Nesser for Brisbane Heat of Sydney Sixer’s Jordan Silk on Sunday at Brisbane’s Gabba.

ICC shared an explanation citing the relevant laws, saying: “Law 19.5.2 states: A field player who is not in contact with the ground is considered to be grounded outside the boundary if his/her last contact with the ground, for his/her first contact with the ball after it has been delivered by the bowler was not wholly within the bounds.”

“It is important to note that as long as the fielder first touches the ball within the boundary line, he may complete the catch as he pleases, provided his feet are not on the ground as the ball crosses the boundary line . Neser’s first contact with the ball, the timing of his jump and the final catch were all within the rules, the batter was correctly called out,” ICC added.

This is the second time a Brisbane heat player has pulled off such acrobatics near the boundary line. Nesser had said after the game, “I knew (Matt) Renshaw was doing it a few years ago. I didn’t know if they changed the rules and luckily they didn’t change the rules.

Brisbane Heat won a thrilling game by 15 points in a high scoring game. During the 19th over of Steketee’s bowling innings, Jordan Silk 41 (23) put one in the stands. However, Nesser took a stunner to turn the game in Heat’s favor.

Mathew Kuhnemann was the bowlers choice for the Heat going 2-31(4) as they defended 225 runs.

Leave a Comment